The Union County Board of Elections met on February 8,2022. Those in attendance were Chairman William Steele; Board Members Gary Lee, Dean Cook, and Rebecca Pokorski; Director Tina LaRoche; Deputy Director Brandon Clay; and Election Specialist Michelle Forrider.

Chairman Steele called the meeting to order at 1:00pm.

Approve minutes from December 7, 2021

The minutes from the December Board meeting/Official Canvass were presented to the Board for their approval. Board Member Lee motions to approve minutes. Board Member Pokorski seconds the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Approve petitions for the May Primary

Board Member Pokorski motions to approve the petitions and declarations of candidacy as presented by the staff (see attached list) to be certified. Board Member Lee seconds the motions.

• The motion passed unanimously.

List of Ballot Issues for the May 3rd Primary.

Board Member Cook motions to certify the ballot issues as presented by the staff (see attached list). Board Member Pokorski seconds the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Campaign finance

The Annual and Post general campaign finance reports were presented to the Board. Board Member Cook motions to approve the following reports:

- 1. Lori Lacella
- 2. David Phillips
- 3. Keith Conroy
- 4. Smarra for Commissioner
- 5. Smarra for Treasurer
- 6. Union County Republican party (restricted fund)
- 7. Union County Republican party (general fund)
- 8. Danielle Sullivan
- 9. Union County Democratic party (restricted fun)
- 10. Richwood-North Union Public Library
- 11.Barry Adler
- 12. Tony Eufinger
- 13. Savidge/Smith
- 14. Wezlyn Davis
- 15. Citizen for Northwestern Fire District
- 16. Joe Craft
- 17. Woodring, Bochkor, and Yoder
- 18. Judy Christian
- 19. Mike Moffett
- 20. Residents for Jerome Township

- 21. North Union Levy Committee
- 22. Citizens for Schools Committee
- 23. Fairbanks Levy Committee
- 24. Citizens for Senior Services, Better Roads and Safer Bridges
- 25. Chris Schmenk
- 26.JR Raush
- 27. Mark Reams
- 28. The Friends of the Health Department Levy Committee
- 29. Union County 911 Committee
- 30. Library Levy Committee
- 31. Jeff Stauch
- 32. Steve Robinson
- 33. Dave Lawrence

Board Member Pokorski seconds the motion to approve the campaign finance reports as presented.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Approve Bills

Director LaRoche presented the bills. Board Member Cook made a motion to approve the following bills.

- 1. Travel Expenses for Staff
- 2. Pitney Bowes
- 3. Mascot Metropolitan
- 4. Ballot Sync

Board Member Pokorski seconds the motion to approve bills as they were presented.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Budget Review

Director LaRoche reviewed the YTD budget report. There were no issues to discuss.

Misc.

Chairman Steele wanted an update on what happened with the Election Fraud that took place during the 2020 General Election. Deputy Director Clay went over what happened and what he was doing to follow up with Marion County.

Director LaRoche shared with the board the new Poll Pad Stands and that were shown at Winter Conference, she is working with Knowlnk on getting a quote as quick as possible so we can move forward. The Board decided to make decision on the new stands after they see the quote.

Director LaRoche asks the Board to consider hiring a Part time position to the office. It was discussed how many hours a week, when would they start and what they would be doing. The Board asked Director LaRoche and Deputy Director Clay to speak with other counties similar in size to see how many staff members they have. The Board said with the growth of the county, possibly two or more positions might be needed. They will readdress this issue once they get more information from staff.

Board Member Lee motions to approve of hiring one temporary part time employee to work for the next few months leading up the Primary election in May. Board Member Pokorski seconds this motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

4

Chairman Steele closed the Meeting at 2:08 p.m.

Attest: Muchelle & Chairman:

Michelle Forrider, Election Specialist

William Steele, Chairman